About

Welcome!  I’m so glad you came.  My name is Sheree.  I am 43 years old. I am only 5’1″ tall with a husband who is 6’2″.  I have been married to my husband for 22 years. We have two beautiful teenagers. Our daughter is 17 and our son is 14. We have been homeschooling them since our daughter was in fourth grade and our son was in first grade.  My husband and I are both educators. Before having children I taught first and second grade. When my kids were young I started up a preschool and taught that for three and a half years.  My husband was a high school social studies teacher and is currently in his 14th year as a high school principal. I also had the opportunity a couple years ago to work as a clerk for the local library.  After a year in that position, I was blessed to take on a full time position as the Youth Services Director.  I LOVED THAT JOB!!  We had to relocate to a different part of the state a few months ago due to my husband’s job change, so I had to say goodbye to not only that job, but to our family, church, and friends.  More on that later.

We are so much more complex than our job descriptions and titles though.  Life has ups and downs. Fears and anxieties. Adventure! Chronic illnesses. Food Allergies.  Financial ups and downs. Past mistakes and current issues.  Job changes.  Relocations.  Best Friends.  Laughs and cries. TEENAGERS!

We are all searching for things.  Whether it’s a new wardrobe or a better diet to more complex things like the meaning of life.  That’s what this blog is all about.  LIFE.  Let’s get to know one another, ask questions, share our thoughts, and hopefully come away feeling like we just spent the afternoon with a friend.  So, grab your chocolate and a cup of your favorite tea or coffee and let’s chat.

A little bit more about me…

I was born and raised in Chicago, IL.  My freshman year of high school my parents relocated us to Northwest Indiana.  I met my husband during my senior year of high school (his junior year).  I joke that I am older and wiser, but only by 3 months.  We dated 3 years before getting married.  We were married 5 years before our first child came along.

Homeschooling wasn’t something we EVER planned on doing.  It was something unexpected and beautiful.  We get a lot of questions and weird looks from fellow public educators who can’t understand why we made this choice.  You can read more about this under the “Homeschooling” tab.

We have three dogs.  I can’t believe I have 3 dogs!!  It was a bad parenting decision.  Our family dog is Maximus the German Shepherd.  Lucy is a miniature terrier that belongs to our son.  Jasper is a miniature Chihuahua owned by our daughter.

As a family, a couple of our favorite places to go are the beach and to any state park.  We also love bike riding and taking walks all over the town we live in.

As for me, I love trips to Downtown Chicago; especially around Christmas.  I have fond memories growing up in Chicago and trips to downtown with my grandparents.

I also love reading.  I haven’t always loved it, but in the past 10 years I have tried to sneak in as many books as I can when I’m not running around trying to keep my life together.  If you are a mom you know what I mean.

I love art too!  I had the amazing opportunity a while back to teach art classes to local homeschoolers.  What a blast!  I really wish I had more time to pursue painting and other art forms on my own.  Maybe some day.

Most importantly, I love the Lord Jesus Christ with all my heart, soul, and mind.  He is the reason I have peace and joy no matter what comes.  The One, True Living God is with me always.  He loves me.  He loves you.